BMW VEHICLE STABILITY / BRAKES WARNING LIGHTS - HELP !

For everything relating to the BMW 1 series
Alandoc
BMW Enthusiast
Car model: BMW 1 SERIES - 118 - DIESEL 53 PLATE

BMW VEHICLE STABILITY / BRAKES WARNING LIGHTS - HELP !

Post by Alandoc » 31 Oct 2012, 22:10

Hello, new to this forum and looking for some independant advice.
I have warning lights on my Dashboard and have had a diagnosis.

1. The front and rear brake wear sensors are broken and need replaced. I have looked at a youtube video and this seems quite straight forward. IS IT? I have a UK BMW 1 series - which side are the sensors on? Drivers side or off side? Where am I best to buy them from? If I buy them and fit them, will the warning light disappear or do I need to pay someone to reset it ???

2. The other warning lights, following diagnosos is about the vehicle stability - the mechanics computer says the ABD pump needs replacing. I have tested the ABS and it is working perfectly well, so I think ( I AM NO EXPERT ) that there must be a sensor in the pump and this sensor is inoperative, resulting in the nault. I feel aggrieved having to pay hundreds of pounds to replace a pump that is actually appearing to work fine. Any advice?

I have seen a machine on Ebay for £20 which says it can reset your lights, etc. But I am a bit sceptical, and I am aware that some of these machines will not reset ABS faults.........

Any advice will be helpful.

I do like my car, but in my view it has too many sensors. The garage wants £100 to replace my brake sensors, and I am gutted that this cost is purely for sensors, it is not actually affecting the road worthiness of my car !!!!!!

M60NJP
Site Owner
Car model: 135i M Sport
Isetta 300

Re: BMW VEHICLE STABILITY / BRAKES WARNING LIGHTS - HELP !

Post by M60NJP » 31 Oct 2012, 22:37